Header Ads Widget

Le Mans 24 Hours: André Lotterer, Benoit Tréluyer and Marcel Fässler can make history

By Tarek Ramchani

History can be written this upcoming weekend at Le Mans. Audi drivers André Lotterer, Benoit Tréllyuer and Marcel Fassler are hunting a historical fourth outright victory together in the French classic.

Audi is now holding a record with two driver line-ups achieving three overall victories at Le Mans 24 Hours together.

The first one was in the early 2000s and the Audi R8 era. Tom Kristensen, Emanuele Pirro and Frank Biela who won the event three years in a row, in 2000, 2001 and 2002.

Ten years later it was the turn of a new winning trio with André Lotterer, Benoit Tréllyuer and Marcel Fässler. The three drivers won the twice around the clock race three times in 2011, 2012 and in 2014.

The Audi stars are leading the FIA World Endurance Champions points standing after two overall victories at the 6 Hours of Silverstone and the 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps.

2011 victory with #2 Audi R18 ultra

2012 victory with #1 Audi R18 e-tron quattro

                                                  2014 victory with #2 Audi R18 e-tron quattro

Photo credit: Audi Media

Post a comment